Back to all departments
Prof. Dr. med. Marianne Dieterich, FANA, FEAN image

Department of neurology with Friedrich-Baur Institute for nerve and muscle diseases

Prof. Dr. med. Marianne Dieterich, FANA, FEAN
neurology, neurophysiology

About the department

The department of neurology with Friedrich-Baur Institute for nerve and muscle diseases at University Hospital of the Ludwig-Maximilians-University (LMU) Munich is one of the leading centres for patient care and research excellence in the field of neuromuscular disorders. According to Focus magazine, the department ranks among the best departments in Germany to treat multiple sclerosis, Alzheimer's disease, and Parkinson's disease. In addition, the department includes an intensive care unit, an epilepsy unit that treats over 450 patients per year, a stroke unit that treats approximately 700 patients per year, and a centre specializing in treating vertigo and balance disorders. In general, more than 5,500 inpatients are treated annually. The team of doctors consists of more than 100 professionals. Close collaboration with the Friedrich-Baur Institute enables clinical research and the development of new methods of treatments to achieve the best results. Furthermore, the department provides continuous training and advanced training of employees, which allows for accurate diagnosis and treatment of patients according to the latest guidelines.

The department specializes in treating patients with neurological disorders, neoplasms of the nervous system, balance and eye movement disorders, neuroimmunological diseases, and practices sleep medicine. There is modern equipment for diagnostics, such as an MRI machine, a microbiological laboratory, muscle and nerve ultrasound, and others.

Show more

Treatment and diagnostic focus of the department


  • Epilepsy Center
  • Parkinson’s disease and movement disorders
  • Stroke 
  • Neurological pain, incl. headache
  • Neurodegenerative diseases, incl. memory- and speech disorders
  • Vertigo, balance and eye movement disorders 
  • Neuroimmunological diseases, incl. multiple sclerosis
  • Neurooncology
  • Sleep disorders
  • Nerve and muscle diseases
  • Progressive supranuclear palsy (PSP)
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
  • Neuroinfection


  • Anamnesis
  • Physical exam
  • Laboratory testing
  • MRI
  • CT scan or CAT scan
  • Electroencephalography (recording of brain activity)
  • Electromyography (recording the electrical activity of muscles)
  • Positron emission tomography 
  • Lumbar puncture (needle is inserted into the spinal canal)
  • Other diagnostic procedures

Treatment options:

  • Drug therapy 
  • Electrophysiology
  • Physiotherapy
  • Rehabilitation therapy
  • Chemotherapy (for neoplasms)
  • Immunotherapy 
  • Other services
Show more

Doctor profile


  • 1975 - 1981 Study of human medicine at the Ruhr University Bochum (pre-clinical part), at the University of Essen (clinical part)
  • 1978 - 1981 Doctorate: Neurosurgical University Clinic Essen
  • 1992 Habilitation in neurology and Clinical Neurophysiology at the LMU Munich, Appointment as a private lecturer
  • 1993 - 1994 Research Fellow, Vestibular Laboratory, Department of Neurology, Kantonsspital Zürich, Switzerland.


  • 1995 - 2001 С3 Professor of Neurology, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, Germany.
  • 1993 - 1995 Heisenberg Professorship, German Research Foundation (DFG).
  • 1984 - 1992 Department of Neurology, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, Germany.
  • 1982 - 1984 Department of Neurology, Alfried Krupp Hospital Essen, Germany.
  • 1981 - 1982 Department of Neurosurgery, Alfried Krupp Hospital Essen, Germany.

Awards, memberships, publications

  • 1996 Research Award of the European Neurological Society (ENS).
  • 1997 Hedon Award for outstanding achievements in the neurobiological research of the vestibular system.
  • 1999 Vertigo Award of the German Society of Neurology (DGN) for long-standing scientific work on the topic "vertigo and the vestibular system"
  • 2000 Elfriede Aulhorn Award in the field of Neuro-Ophthalmology of the German Ophthalmological Society for outstanding achievements in clinical neuro-ophthalmology
  • Since 2002, Member of the Editorial Board of Annals of Neurology
  • 2004 Hallpike Nylén Award of the International Bárány Society for outstanding contributions to Clinical Neuro-Otology
  • Since 2006, Member of the Editorial Board of Deutsches Ärzteblatt
  • 2006 - 2011 Member of the Editorial Board of J. Neurol
  • 2011 Award of the German Society of Clinical Neurophysiology and Functional Imaging (DGKN) for outstanding teaching 
Show more
Send request
Have any questions? Get in touch with the hospital!

Similar hospitals